What is a backup?

A back up is a saved version of your website to help you ensure that you don’t ever lose any important data or settings. The Advanced Website Upgrade automatically creates backups every time your site is published, but we also recommend creating manual backups of your site periodically, especially when making substantial changes.

By adding the Advanced Website Upgrade app, you can create additional backups for your website. More information on our Apps.

Creating a backup

  1. Go to the left-hand panel of your Advanced Website Upgrade, click Settings and then navigate to Back up Site.
  2. Type a New Version Name for the backup so you know which version it was. The date and time of the backup are automatically added.
  3. Click Save.

Restoring a backup

This means you’ll revert your website back to the version it was at the time your backup was created. To restore from backup...

  1. Go to the left-hand panel of your website builder, click Settings and navigate to Back up Site.
  2. Click the Restore link next to the backup you want to restore.
  3. Re-publish your website (the live version of your website will only show your backup once the site has been re-published).

Note: By restoring, you will also restore your previous SEO, scripts and other site settings.

Delete backups

  1. Go to the left-hand panel of your website builder, click Settings and navigate to Back up Site.
  2. Click the Delete link next to the backup you want to delete.

Did this answer your question?