What is the traveler self-service portal?
The traveler self-service portal gives travelers the ability to cancel their booking themselves, which will trigger a refund automatically. This means that the traveler won’t have to contact you, the vendor, and the cancellation no longer has to be processed manually.

What types of bookings can be cancelled through the portal?

Which payment providers are supported in the portal?
Currently, the following payment providers are supported through the portal. Payments through other providers can not be refunded through the portal. 

  • Borgun Server 
  • Valitor Server 
  • Stripe Token  
  • Braintree Token 
  • Realex Server 
  • Trekksoft Server 
  • Worldpay Server

How to allow travelers to cancel their bookings themselves

  1. Click the gear icon in the top right hand corner of your screen and click Settings
  2. Tick the Traveler Cancellation box to Enable online cancellations.

How does the vendor access the self-service portal?
The portal is a feature only meant for the traveler so the vendor can not access the self-service portal.

How does the traveler access the self-service portal?
The traveler email confirmation now includes a Manage my booking button. When clicked, the button takes the traveler to the self service portal where they can cancel their booking.

How does the traveler cancel their booking?
This is how the portal looks for the traveler.

To modify a booking, the traveler clicks the Want to modify this booking? and is provided with the vendor contact details.

To cancel a booking, the traveler clicks the Cancel reservation and a pop up provides information on the total refund, the cancellation policy and the option to cancel the booking. 

The next pop up provides information on the refund and provides a time-frame for the refund to take place. The traveler then clicks the Confirm button to cancel the booking.

What happens once a traveler has cancelled a booking through the portal?
When a traveler click the Confirm button they receive a cancellation confirmation email. The emails includes information on the total refund and the refund process.

The cancellation is also recorded in the Bókun extranet in the booking overview. You can click the Audit trail tab to view more detailed information and you can click the Payments tab to see the amount refunded to the traveler.

Did this answer your question?